Let Go The Goat
Let Go The Goat
G.E. Schwartz
0:00
-39:13

G.E. Schwartz

Episode 14

We discuss how to live a life of poetry.

About G.E. Schwartz – With poetry I try to catch the illimitable in little bottles. Yes, we must learn precision with particulars as well as spacious thinking across centuries. In practical terms we keep building connections between these extremes. I try to elevate my readers more with less sacrifice of precise grounding in the fascinating and troubling here and now.

For me, my attempts at paying attention has more and more become a habit of being. The bright or dingy corners of a neighborhood, a city, a countryside, nature in its infinite variety, human experience of all kinds, and, yes, Divine activity all engage my eyes and my thoughts.

My paths are informed by my thirsts for the knowledge of history, all literature of all cultures and science, and it’s all illumined by faith.

How might an unbeliever approach not just parts of my work but all of the work of a poet such as me who believes, through and through? Try to find... as I have found... an infinite sympathy for the natural world, a sensitivity to the physical weather of the soul, try to see... as I try to see... with the eyes of all our others---the razor-sharp vision which moves like a hawk and a sighted mole-- and to join me in my debates with myself, as I try to place words in such a way that I feel as if I’m meeting them for the first time.

About Mike Rippy – Mike has worked in the art museum industry for over 20 years and the visual arts for over 30. Through LGTG, Mike will be sharing his own burgeoning journey into a deeper understanding of poetry so that others who may be curious but intimidated by the medium may feel less apprehensive.

Let Go The Goat
Let Go The Goat
Traveling through the Wilderness of the Arts